Text version only

• Hi,

I need to edit the RVC somehow, that it would be text only version. I am a newbie with Flash builder, so I dont have enough knowledge to do this myself :blush: . Could someone please help me with this?

• You wish to completely turn off video or use small thumbnails instead?

• the lowest native mode for webcams is 80 x 60 pixel at lowest 30 frames per second if the camera supports it. The default values for camera.setMode are:

width:int - default value is 160.
    height:int - default value is 120.
    fps:Number - default value is 15.

in RVC this would be: camera.setMode(160, 120, 15); - the lowest: camera.setMode(80, 60, 30);

If you make a little research, this table will tell you more on how to select the fastest method (the lowest quality is not necessary the fastest!). And here are the details related to the web camera. Seems like camera.setMode(80, 60, 30); is optimal, however, I would test and compare it with the default camera.setMode(160, 120, 15);. Anyway, both can be sized down when using the VideoDisplay control to a little thumbnail (for ex. like a facebook thumbnail or my tux, sized to 70x60) and you get a chat, focused on text while still have small video-thumbnails.

The other way is to turn off the VideoDisplay control completely (remove from JabberCam.mxml) and remove sending audio and video from the as (this will need at least basic knowledge of as). Since I like the idea, will try to post a modified mxml with video thumbnails during the weekend. Maybe someone helps with the as if not, get back.

• Well, I want to turn off video/audio completely and make it text only (I know its a little weird, but I want it so :) ), so if you have some time, you could explain it a little more then, how can I remove sending video/audio.